Get in touch with us+44(0)800 009 6007
get in touch

Chalobah and Maguire earn England calls

​Gareth Southgate has selected 28 players for England’s upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Malta and Slovakia.

By Jon Francis | Published: 24th August 2017 Sport

There are two new faces included.

Nathaniel Chalobah – England’s most-capped youth international – is named in the senior squad for the first time, while Harry Maguire is included after impressing since his summer move to Leicester City.

Uncapped Everton goalkeeper Jordan Pickford also steps up from the Under-21 squad.

England squad to face Malta & Slovakia: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Jack Butland (Stoke City), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Nathaniel Chalobah (Watford), Aaron Cresswell (West Ham United), Jermain Defoe (AFC Bournemouth), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Joe Hart (West Ham United, on loan from Manchester City), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Keane (Everton), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Jake Livermore (West Bromwich Albion), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), John Stones (Manchester City), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal)