Get in touch with us+44(0)800 009 6007
get in touch

EU leaders meet without Britain for 60th birthday

The leaders of 27 European Union countries, but not Britain, are meeting in Italy to mark 60 years since the Treaty of Rome was signed.

By Jon Francis | Published: 25th March 2017 News Updates

The countries will sign a new declaration to honour the 1957 treaty, which paved the way for the formation of the EU.

But British Prime Minister Theresa May is not attending as she plans to launch the Brexit process on Wednesday.

Security has been tightened across the city following Wednesday's terrorist attack in London.

Pope Francis welcomed the leaders to the Vatican on the eve of the summit with a reception.

The original Treaty of Rome launched the European Economic Community, the EU's forerunner.

It was signed by Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and the then West Germany.